iHeart Radio Hosts Kenny Chesney’s Album Release Party for Life on A Rock


Kenny Chesney is an artist who is used to singing country anthems in front of 60,000 plus fans on a nightly basis.  However, on the day before his new album, “Life on a Rock”, was set to be released, it was no coincidence that Kenny sat with 50 lucky fans to discuss what he described as his most personal album to date. 


iHeartRadio hosted this exclusive Album Release Party at the iHeartRadio Theater presented by P.C. Richard & Son and Bobby Bones, host of The Bobby Bones Show, syndicated on Country radio stations nationwide, joined Kenny on stage for the festivities.  Fans were treated to an hour of stories behind where the songs from “Life on a Rock” came from.


Kenny told the crowd that he had written the songs on the album for himself, never thinking they would ever be heard, let alone be put on an album.  He said the album, at first, was a personal “journal that rhymed”.  Songs such as “Lindy”, “Marley”, “When I See This Bar”, and “Must Be Something I Missed” where actually written without a guitar in his hands or any music to the lyrics.  He further eluded that he thinks that his music has changed over the course of the past few years because he has changed as a person.  He stated “if my music did not change it would not be authentic”. 


Kenny was not serious and deep the entire party as he shared jokes and stories behind “Coconut Tree” with Willie Nelson and “Spread the Love” which features the Wailers.  With a big smile and a deep laugh, he said that working with the Wailers was a lot like working with Willie.  He told us he had spent two days with Willie at his house in Maui, Hawaii, sitting at a poker table trading the guitar back and forth.  He also said that the Wailers had sent him the song “Spread the Love”, but wanted him to create his own lyrics to the song and that was how it was born.

During the course of the hour, it was a unique experience to be so up close and personal with one of the top entertainers in the entire world and see him describe what he was thinking at the time he created such personal songs.  I could see the true authenticity in the songs on “Life on a Rock” as he intently described what he meant by his lyrics.  Bobby Jones did a great job by asking some humorous questions and adding in his own humor.  The iHearRadio Theater was the perfect intimate, yet state of the art setting to make the hour long party a once in a lifetime experience. 
Track Listing for “Life on a Rock”
  1. Pirate Flag
  2. When I See This Bar
  3. Spread the Love featuring the Wailers and Elan
  4. Lindy
  5. Coconut Tree with Willie Nelson
  6. It’s That Time of Day
  7. Life on a Rock
  8. Marley
  9. Must Be Something I Missed
  10. Happy on the Hey Now (A Song for Kristi)